AN ACT removing the cap on satellite annexations for the town of china grove.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  G.S. 160A‑58.1 reads as rewritten:

"§ 160A‑58.1.  Petition for annexation; standards.

(b)        A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following standards:

(5)        The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.

This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury, Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier, Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Fuquay‑Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Yadkinville, and Zebulon.


SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 26th day of June, 2019.



                                                                    s/  Daniel J. Forest

                                                                         President of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Tim Moore

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives