AN ACT to fund capital improvements at department of Public Safety facilities implementing raise the age.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.(a)  There is transferred from the Statewide Misdemeanant Confinement Fund (Budget Code: 24550; Fund Code: 2325) to the Division of Adult Correction and Juvenile Justice Division‑Wide Operations Fund (Budget Code: 14550; Fund Code: 1399) the sum of ten million four hundred forty thousand dollars ($10,440,000) in nonrecurring funds for the 2020‑2021 fiscal year.

SECTION 1.(b)  The funds transferred in this act are appropriated to the Department of Public Safety for the 2020‑2021 fiscal year to be allocated and used as follows:

(1)        $2,762,000 for the Perquimans Youth Detention Center for Raise the Age renovations.

(2)        $5,678,000 for the C.A. Dillon Youth Development Center campus in Granville County for Raise the Age renovations.

(3)        $2,000,000 to support inmate construction projects for completing construction of the Youth Development Center in Rockingham County.

SECTION 1.(c)  G.S. 143C‑8‑11 applies to the projects listed in subsection (b) of this section.

SECTION 2.  Section 4.15(c) of S.L. 2020‑3 reads as rewritten:

"SECTION 4.15.(c)  This section is effective when it becomes law and expires August 1, 2020.upon the earlier of August 1, 2022, or the date of completion of the Youth Development Center in Rockingham County."

SECTION 3.  The provisions of the State Budget Act, Chapter 143C of the General Statutes, are reenacted and shall remain in full force and effect and are incorporated in this act by reference.

SECTION 4.  Except where expressly repealed or amended by this act, the provisions of any other legislation enacted during the 2019 Regular Session of the General Assembly expressly appropriating funds to an agency, a department, or an institution covered under this act shall remain in effect.

SECTION 5.  This act becomes effective July 1, 2020.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 8th day of June, 2020.



                                                                    s/  Philip E. Berger

                                                                         President Pro Tempore of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Tim Moore

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/  Roy Cooper




Approved 9:51 a.m. this 12th day of June, 2020