AN ACT adopting the twenty‑fourth day of april of each year as wounded heroes day in honor of army sGT. Michael verardo.


Whereas, Sgt. Michael Verardo served in the United States Army until receiving a medical retirement in 2013; and

Whereas, on April 24, 2010, while on foot patrol as an Infantryman with the 82nd Airborne, Bravo Company (2‑508th) Parachute Infantry Regiment, in Afghanistan, Sgt. Verardo was wounded by an improvised explosive device, causing him to lose his left leg and much of his left arm, withstand severe burns, and suffer a traumatic brain injury and other injuries that required a field blood transfusion; and

Whereas, Sgt. Verardo bravely endured years of physical, occupational, speech, and visual therapies and, on April 24, 2019, his Ninth Alive Day, underwent his 120th surgery; and

Whereas, because of his courage and grit, Sgt. Verardo has overcome unimaginable challenges and obstacles and is now able to enjoy adaptive athletics, such as competitive pistol shooting, and is an active participant in his church and community; and

Whereas, in honor of Sgt. Verardo's Alive Day anniversary and in recognition of all the other wounded heroes who have bravely made great sacrifices in service to our nation, it is fitting to designate April 24th of each year as Wounded Heroes Day in North Carolina; Now, therefore,


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  Chapter 103 of the General Statutes is amended by adding a new section to read:

"§ 103‑16.  Wounded Heroes Day.

The twenty‑fourth day of April of each year is designated as Wounded Heroes Day in North Carolina."

SECTION 2.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 15th day of April, 2021.



                                                                    s/  Philip E. Berger

                                                                         President Pro Tempore of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Tim Moore

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/  Roy Cooper




Approved 5:53 p.m. this 21st day of April, 2021