SESSION LAW 2021-133




AN ACT to authorize community colleges to determine eligibility for in‑state tuition for recent high school graduates meeting certain criteria and to clarify the state board of community colleges election process.


The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:


SECTION 1.  G.S. 115D‑39 is amended by adding a new subsection to read:

"(e)      A United States citizen shall be eligible to receive the State resident community college tuition rate for the school year immediately following the student's graduation from high school if all of the following conditions are met:

(1)        The individual satisfied the qualifications for assignment to a public school, as provided in G.S. 115C‑366.

(2)        The individual was enrolled in a North Carolina public school unit for the entirety of the final school year before receiving a high school diploma from the public school unit.

(3)        The individual was unable, due to lack of evidence, to establish residency for tuition purposes through the centralized residency determination process administered by the State Education Assistance Authority."

SECTION 2.  G.S. 115D‑2.2(c), as enacted by S.L. 2021‑90, reads as rewritten:

"(c)      At each session of the General Assembly held in an odd‑numbered year, the Senate and the House of Representatives shall select elect from a slate of candidates made in each chamber. The slate shall be prepared as provided by resolution in each chamber. If a sufficient number of nominees who are legally qualified are submitted, then the slate of candidates shall list at least twice the number of candidates for the total seats open. All qualified candidates shall compete against all other qualified candidates. All candidates shall submit a statement of economic interest to the State Ethics Commission for review under G.S. 138A‑24."

SECTION 3.  This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 25th day of August, 2021.



                                                                    s/  Phil Berger

                                                                         President Pro Tempore of the Senate



                                                                    s/  Tim Moore

                                                                         Speaker of the House of Representatives



                                                                    s/  Roy Cooper




Approved 2:10 p.m. this 2nd day of September, 2021