## NORTH CAROLINA GENERAL ASSEMBLY 1981 SESSION

## CHAPTER 1281 HOUSE BILL 1671

## AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

Whereas, Chapter 1191, Session Laws of 1981 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and

Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives has made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

- **Section 1.** Edwin E. Rankin of McDowell County and Laurence Eason Lilley of Martin County are appointed to the Board of Public Telecommunications Commissioners for terms to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 2.** Carl J. Stewart, Jr., of Gaston County is appointed to the Board of Transportation for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 3.** Claude DeBruhl of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board of Trustees Teachers' and State Employees' Retirement System for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 4.** Charles Pinkney Francis of Haywood County is appointed to the Environmental Management Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 5.** Ernest Leroy Carraway of Bertie County is appointed to the State Fire Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 6.** Ray P. Rouse of Lenoir County is appointed to the Public Officers and Employees Liability Insurance Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 7.** Sankey Wright Robinson of Columbus County is appointed to the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 8.** Mickey Hanula of Wake County and William Allen Taylor of Wake County are each appointed to the Housing Finance Agency for terms to expire on June 30, 1983. These are the two appointments without statutory requirement for special qualifications.
- **Sec. 9.** Stanley Chris Payne of Dare County is appointed to the North Carolina Seafood Industrial Park Authority for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 9.1.** George T. Rogister, Jr., of Wake County is appointed to the Committee for Review of Applications for Incentive Pay for State Employees for a term to expire on July 1, 1984.
- **Sec. 10.** Joanne Brannon Aldridge of Watauga County and David Wyatt of Madison County are appointed to the Board of Trustees of the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics for terms to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 11.** Jessie Ray Scott of Alamance County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Science and Technology for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 12.** Durwood Laughinghouse of Beaufort County is appointed to the State Farm Operations Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.

- **Sec. 13.** Claude DeBruhl of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board of Commissioners of the Law Enforcement Officers' Benefit and Retirement Fund for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 14.** Margaret Taylor of Wake County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the North Carolina Museum of Art for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 15.** Alfred Gene Smith of Bladen County and Reverend J. Murphy Smith of Craven County are appointed to the Commission for Mental Health, Mental Retardation, and Substance Abuse Services for terms to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 16.** William E. Holman of Wake County is appointed to the Governor's Waste Management Board for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 17.** Lewis Morris Fetterman of Sampson County is appointed to the North Carolina Ports Authority for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 18.** Clarence E. Leatherman of Lincoln County is appointed to the Property Tax Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 19.** Arnold Locklear of Robeson County is appointed to the Commission of Indian Affairs for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 20.** Donald Allen Thompson of Montgomery County is appointed to the Wildlife Resources Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 21.** Pat Lloyd of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Governor's Advocacy Council for Persons with Disabilities for a term to expire on June 30, 1983.
- **Sec. 22.** All appointments made by this act are for terms to begin on the effective date of this act.
  - **Sec. 23.** This act is effective upon ratification.
- In the General Assembly read three times and ratified, this the 22nd day of June, 1982.

Page 2 Introduced Bill