GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1985 SESSION

CHAPTER 1026 HOUSE BILL 2107

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives; and

Whereas, the Speaker of the House of Representatives has made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

Section 1. Everett Carnes of McDowell County is appointed to the Board of State Contract Appeals for a term to expire on June 30, 1988.

Sec. 2. Mary M. Holroyd of Wake County and Betsy H. Johnson of Wayne County are appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for terms to expire on June 30, 1988. These are the two appointments who are not employed in or providing day care and who have no financial interest in day care.

Sec. 3. Julius Rowan Cauble of Buncombe County is appointed to the Private Protective Services Board for a term to expire on June 30, 1989.

Sec. 4. Mrs. Kathryn Kirkpatrick of Haywood County is appointed to the North Carolina Milk Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1988. This is the categorical appointment for a public member.

Sec. 5. James D. Tomberlin of Buncombe County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term expiring on June 30, 1988. Ben H. Battle of Jackson County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term to expire on June 30, 1987, to fill the vacancy caused by the resignation of John T. King of Cabarrus County.

Sec. 6. Dennis T. Worley of Columbus County is appointed to the North Carolina Criminal Justice Education and Training Standards Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1987, to fill the vacancy caused by the death of Sankey Wright Robinson of Columbus County.

Sec. 7. Mrs. Lynda B. Cowan of Jackson County, Dr. James Colson of Wake County and David Wyatt of Madison County are appointed to the North Carolina Board for Need-Based Student Loans for terms to expire on July 1, 1990. Sec. 8. W. Carson Ellis of Vance County is appointed to the Alarm Systems Licensing Board for a term to begin on October 1, 1986, and to expire on September 30, 1989.

Sec. 9. Dr. Cynthia M. Freund of Orange County is appointed to the North Carolina Medical Database Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1989. This is the nurse categorical appointment.

Sec. 10. Michael E. Ferguson of Haywood County and Jimmy L. Moore of Jackson County are appointed to the North Carolina Housing Commission for terms to expire on June 30, 1989.

Sec. 11. Dr. H. F. Robinson of Jackson County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire on June 30, 1990. David Felmet, Sr., of Haywood County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire on June 30, 1988.

Sec. 12. Mack Reid Hudson of Harnett County, Rhone Sasser of Columbus County and J. P. Harris, Jr., of Granville County are appointed to the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Authority for terms to expire on June 30, 1989.

Sec. 13. Oscar Harris of Harnett County, Melvin G. Cording of Duplin County are appointed to the Southeastern North Carolina Farmers Market Commission for terms to expire on June 30, 1990. Dr. Edmund A. Estes of Wake County and Samuel L. Harrell of Pender County are appointed to the Southeastern North Carolina Farmers Market Commission for terms to expire on June 30, 1988.

Sec. 14. Don Baker of Pasquotank County and Rev. James M. Johnson of Halifax County are appointed to the Northeastern North Carolina Farmers Market Commission for terms to expire on June 30, 1990. Dr. Frank Bordeaux of Wake County and Hobart Trusdale of Washington County are appointed to the Northeastern North Carolina Farmers Market Commission for terms to expire on June 30, 1988. Dr. Frank Bordeaux will serve as Chairman as provided in subsection (d) of G.S. 106-720 of Sec. 158 of House Bill 2055.

Sec. 15. Ms. Catharine Biggs Arrowood of Wake County, George Hux of Halifax County, John S. Stevens of Buncombe County and Joe A. Connolly of Buncombe County are appointed to the Administrative Rules Review Commission for terms to expire on June 30, 1988.

Sec. 16. Mrs. Marydell R. Bright of Alamance County, Dr. William Joe Cowan of Jackson County, and Dr. Ben D. Quinn of Craven County are appointed to the North Carolina Teaching Fellows Commission for terms to expire on July 1, 1990.

Sec. 17. Unless otherwise specified, all appointments made by this act are for terms to begin upon ratification of this act or July 1, 1986, whichever is later.

Sec. 18. The fourth sentence of G.S. 74D-4(c) is amended by deleting "Speaker of the House of Representatives", and substituting "President of the Senate", and by deleting "Lieutenant Governor", and substituting "Speaker of the House of Representatives".

Sec. 19. This act is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified, this the 16th day of July, 1986.