## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA 1987 SESSION

## CHAPTER 1060 SENATE BILL 1865

## AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATION OF THE PRESIDENT OF THE SENATE.

Whereas, G.S. 120-121 authorizes the General Assembly to make certain appointments to public offices upon the recommendation of the President of the Senate; and

Whereas, the President of the Senate has made recommendations; Now, therefore,

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

- **Section 1.** Ronald Saucier of New Hanover County is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1990. This appointment is the one affiliated with a for-profit day care center or plan. George Battle of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Child Day Care Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1990. This appointment is the one affiliated with a nonprofit day care center or plan.
- **Sec. 2.** James Lester Rhew of Buncombe County is appointed to the Private Protective Services Board for a term to expire June 30, 1991.
- **Sec. 3.** Edwin Pate Bailey of Wake County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the Teachers' and State Employees' Comprehensive Major Medical Plan for a term expiring on June 30, 1990.
- **Sec. 4.** James L. Muse of Montgomery County is appointed to the North Carolina Medical Database Commission for a term to expire on June 30, 1991. This is the hospital administrator categorical appointment.
- **Sec. 5.** William Frank Forsyth of Cherokee County is appointed to the Board of Directors of the Western North Carolina Arboretum for a term to expire on June 30, 1992.
- **Sec. 6.** J.T. "Tommy" Wellington of Robeson County and Wayne Miller of Wake County are appointed to the Southeastern North Carolina Farmers Market Commission for terms to expire June 30, 1992.
- **Sec. 7.** Dr. Edmund Estes of Wake County and Tom H. Shepherd of Chowan County are appointed to the Northeastern North Carolina Farmers Market Commission for terms to expire June 30, 1992.
- **Sec. 8.** Beryl Wade of Cumberland County, William C. Crawford of Montgomery County, M. Jackson Nichols of Wake County, and Charles D. Woodard of Wayne County are appointed to the Administrative Rules Review Commission for terms to expire June 30, 1990.

- **Sec. 9.** Rev. Jordan C. Harris, Jr., of Iredell County is appointed to the North Carolina Therapeutic Recreation Certification Board for a term to expire June 30, 1991. This appointment is for the category of a public member.
- **Sec. 10.** Thomas E. Norman of Mecklenburg County is appointed to the Board of Trustees of the North Carolina School of Science and Mathematics for a term to expire on June 30, 1991.
- **Sec. 11.** Gerry T. Smith of Beaufort County is appointed to the North Carolina Seafood Industrial Park Authority to fill the unexpired term of Gerald Wain Gaskill of Carteret County for a term to expire June 30, 1989.
- **Sec. 12.** Dr. Charles E. Cook of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Health Insurance Trust Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1991, as a representative who shall represent the public and who is familiar with health insurance issues to serve as an advocate for low and moderate income employees. Brad Thompson of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Health Insurance Trust Commission as a representative of the business community whose company provides health insurance to fill the unexpired term of Larry James Russell of Montgomery County for a term expiring June 30, 1989.
- **Sec. 13.** Ray Sparrow of Wake County is appointed to the State Building Commission for a term to expire June 30, 1991. This is the categorical appointment for a public member knowledgeable in building construction.
- **Sec. 14.** Unless otherwise specified, all appointments made by this act are for terms to begin upon ratification of this act or July 1, 1988, whichever is later.
  - **Sec. 15.** This act is effective upon ratification.
- In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 7th day of July, 1988.