

Report to the North Carolina General Assembly

State Agency Mobile Device Report Pursuant to SL 2015-286 (HB 765)

Date Due: October 1, 2023 DPI Chronological Schedule, 2023-2024

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION VISION: Every public school student in North Carolina will be empowered to accept academic challenges, prepared to pursue their chosen path after graduating high school, and encouraged to become lifelong learners with the capacity to engage in a globally-collaborative society.

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION MISSION: The mission of the North Carolina State Board of Education is to use its constitutional authority to guard and maintain the right of a sound, basic education for every child in North Carolina Public Schools.

ERIC DAVIS	JILL CAMNITZ	JOHN BLACKBURN
Chair: Charlotte – At-Large	Greenville – Northeast Region	Linville – Northwest Region
ALAN DUNCAN	REGINALD KENAN	DONNA TIPTON-ROGERS
Vice Chair: Greensboro – Piedmont-Triad Region	Rose Hill – Southeast Region	Brasstown – Western Region
MARK ROBINSON	VACANT	J. WENDELL HALL
Lieutenant Governor: High Point – Ex Officio	North Central Region	Ahoskie – At-Large
DALE FOLWELL	OLIVIA OXENDINE	CATTY MOORE
State Treasurer: Raleigh – Ex Officio	Pinehurst – Sandhills Region	Monroe – At-Large
CATHERINE TRUITT	VACANT	

NC DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC INSTRUCTION Catherine Truitt, State Superintendent :: 301 N. Wilmington Street :: Raleigh, North Carolina 27601-2825

In compliance with federal law, the NC Department of Public Instruction administers all state-operated educational programs, employment activities and admissions without discrimination because of race, religion, national or ethnic origin, color, age, military service, disability, or gender, except where exemption is appropriate and allowed by law.

Southwest Region

Inquiries or complaints regarding discrimination issues should be directed to: Thomas Tomberlin, Senior Director, Educator Preparation, Licensure, and Performance, NCDPI 6301 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, NC 27699-6301 / Phone: (984) 236-2114 / Fax: (984) 236-2099

Visit us on the Web: www.dpi.nc.gov

Superintendent & Secretary to the Board: Cary

USE OF MOBILE COMMUNICATIONS DEVICES

Agencies shall conduct periodic audits of mobile device usage to ensure that State employees and contractors are complying with agency policies and State requirements for their use. Beginning October 1, 2011, each agency shall report annually to the Chairs of the House of Representatives Committee on Appropriations and the House of Representatives Subcommittee on General Government, the Chairs of the Senate Committee on Appropriations and the Senate Appropriations Committee on General Government and Information Technology, the Joint Legislative Oversight Committee on Information Technology, the FRD, and the Office of State Budget and Management on the following:

- Any changes to agency policies on the use of mobile devices.
 - See Appendix A
- The number and types of new devices issued since the last report.
 - Smartphones: 21
 - Mobile Hotspots: 1
- The total number of mobile devices issued by the agency.
 - o **100**
- The total cost of mobile devices issued by the agency.
 - o \$3,841/month; \$46,092 per year
- The number of each type of mobile device issued, with the total cost for each type.
 - Mobile Hotspots: 79 (\$3,001.21 per month; \$36,014.52 per year)
 - Smartphones: 21 (\$839.79 per month; \$10,077,49 per year)

APPENDIX A: AGENCY MOBILE DEVICE POLICY (REVISED AUGUST, 2024)

Mobile Communications Devices (MCD)

Overview

This policy sets forth the rules and procedures for business use of Mobile Communications Devices (MCD) by NCDPI employees. This policy will apply to two categories of mobile communications devices:

- Employee-owned cellular phones and hotspots used for state business.
- State-owned cellular phones and hotspots provided by NCDPI for employee use.

For employees who are eligible, an employee may be issued a device by DPI or be eligible for a stipend for the use of a personal device in lieu of an agency-owned device.

This policy applies to the use of Mobile Communications Devices for Internet access and telephony only.

This policy does not apply to the use of MCDs for multifactor authentication.

Stipend Amounts

Employees who use employee-owned MCDs are eligible for a stipend as listed below. The stipend is not considered taxable income. All employees requesting a stipend will require approval by their Division's Deputy Superintendent or State Superintendent and will be required to document the cost to maintain the device. In the event the cost of the service is less than the provided stipend, the stipend will be reduced accordingly.

Voice Services: \$20 Data Services: \$20 Voice and Data Services (Single Line): \$40

Eligibility

The following staff members are eligible for an MCD under this policy:

- Executive level employees including the State Superintendent of Public Instruction, Chief of Staff, Deputy State Superintendents, and Assistant State Superintendents.
- Directors, with approval of their supervisor.
- Staff who are required to be available 24/7 or during non-business hours to meet critical service needs including life/safety issues, systems and operational support, and facilities management. Issuance of a device does not qualify an employee for additional or on-call compensation unless otherwise agreed by the Director of Human Resources.
- Employees who are in travel status away from their home duty station more than 40% of their work week on average.
- Staff who are mobile within the DPI building (i.e., facilities and IT staff) where an MCD is needed to ensure response to agency needs.
- Agency rules regarding contract employees will apply to this policy.

Situations ineligible for an MCD include:



- Employees using the MCD as their primary source of internet access in lieu of a dedicated connection at their approved remote work location.
- Employees who volunteer the use of their cell phone in lieu of, or in addition to, their DPIprovided softphone.
- Employees who are teleworking and do not meet one of the other eligibility criteria above.

The employee and supervisor must request **voice** and **data** service separately based on eligibility. For example, an employee who is requesting an MCD for use within the DPI building would not be eligible for data service, whereas a regional support staff member may only need data service if they use their softphone. MCDs for voice and data should be on the same line of service unless otherwise approved.

Employees, with approval of their manager and Division Deputy, may be issued a cellular phone and a separate mobile hotspot device.

Requirements

- While in travel status, employees with MCDs are expected to use the MCD in lieu of public or hotel Wi-Fi wherever possible.
- Employees receiving an MCD are not eligible for reimbursement for telephone calls or internet access while in travel status.
- Employees are expected to follow DPI security requirements for agency-provided MCDs and comply with the agency bring-your-own-device policy for personally-provided MCDs.
- With the exception of executive leadership, an employee who receives a voice line MCD is not eligible for a softphone line via Cisco WebEx without requesting an exception.
- All MCD requests must be renewed annually.
- Employees must immediately report all lost or stolen devices to the Office of Cybersecurity and Risk Management within 6 hours.
- Departments must provide a budget code that can be used for all stipends and MCD payments.
- The use of a cell phone while driving can be a distraction and subsequently the cause of a vehicle accident. Employees must observe all state and local statutes regarding the use of MCDs while driving. The use of hands-free devices is encouraged while driving.

Employee-Owned MCDs

- Stipends only apply to employee-owned MCDs and must be less than the employee's monthly cost to maintain the device.
- Employees must submit a new MCD request each time they change rate plans or providers.
- Employee-owned MCDs are only permitted if the cost of an MCD allowance is less expensive than providing an agency owned MCD.
- DPI will not purchase, repair, replace, or support employee-owned MCDs.
- All records related to the transaction of agency business are public records. The employee is responsible for ensuring that any such records are maintained. This includes public records present on any device, regardless of ownership or reimbursement status.
- Employees using MCDs for agency work must comply with the agency Bring Your Own Device (BYOD) policy.



2

Agency-Owned MCDs

- The Office of Technology Services will select the device and rate plan issued to each employee.
- MCDs purchased with agency funds are property of the agency and cannot be transferred to the employee.
- An employee may not port a phone number to another provider when leaving employment.
- All utilization of the device must follow the agency Acceptable Use Policy.
- While incidental personal usage of agency devices is permissible, the device should be used primarily for the transaction of DPI business.
- Any excess charges resulting from utilization (411 calls, international roaming, etc.) are the employee's responsibility unless prior approval is obtained.
- Agency has the right to inspect MCDs at any time, including all records and text messages created by the MCD.
- Only agency-approved applications may be installed on the MCD.

