GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 1989

S 1

SENATE RESOLUTION 722

Sponsors: Senators Hunt of Durham, Royall, and Ballance.

Referred to: Rules.

April 3, 1989

A SENATE RESOLUTION HONORING THE LIFE AND MEMORY OF DR.
JAMES E. SHEPHERD, FOUNDER OF NORTH CAROLINA CENTRAL
UNIVERSITY, AND NORTH CAROLINA CENTRAL UNIVERSITY'S MEN'S
BASKETBALL TEAM FOR ITS NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, the North Carolina Central University men's basketball team won the 1989 National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division II National Championship; and

Whereas, the Eagles beat Southeast Missouri State by a score of 73-46, the largest margin of victory in NCAA Division II Championship history; and

Whereas, this is the first national basketball title for the Eagles, bringing national recognition to the University and to its basketball program; and

Whereas, the Eagles had a 28-4 record this year, their best since 1951; and

Whereas, the Eagles were also the NCAA South Atlantic Region Champions, runners-up in the Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) Tournament, the CIAA Southern Division Champions with a 10-2 record; and

Whereas, when Michael Bernard became coach of the Eagles four years ago, the team had a record of 4-21; and

Whereas, Governor James G. Martin proclaimed March 28, 1989, as "North Carolina Central Day"; and

Whereas, Dr. James E. Shepherd, founder and former President of North Carolina Central University, would have been proud of the Eagles' accomplishment, for the men's basketball team showed the true characteristics of their mascot;

Now, therefore, be it resolved by the Senate:

5 6

7 8

9

10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

2223

Section 1. The Senate wishes to honor the life and memory of James E.
Shepherd for founding North Carolina Central University and serving as its president for 37 years.

1	Sec. 2. The Senate joins in the celebration of the North Carolina Central
2	University men's basketball team for winning the 1989 National Collegiate Athletic
3	Association Division II National Championship and expresses its appreciation to the
4	head coach Michael J. Bernard; assistant coaches Gregory Jackson and Ronald
5	Woodard; team members, Charles Alston, Fred Bennett, Henry Canty, Miles Clark,
6	Jeffrey Hayes, Joel Hopkins, Sean Kearny, Eric Jackson, Derrick Johnson, Derrick
7	Leak, Adrian McKinnon, Marvin Reed, Antoine Sifford, Dominique Stephens, Kelrick
8	Thompson, Curtis Watkins; and student manager Anthony Daniels.
9	Sec. 3. The Senate invites Coach Michael J. Bernard to address the Senate.
10	Sec. 4. The Principal Clerk shall send certified copies of this resolution to all
11	the individuals and the institution honored in this resolution.

- the individuals and the institution honored in this resolution.
- Sec. 5. This resolution is effective upon adoption.

12