## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

## **SESSION 1997**

H 1

## HOUSE BILL 757

Short Title: Northeastern Commission Members.	(Public)
Sponsors: Representatives Owens; Culpepper, Hardaway, H. Wilkins.	Hunter, Rogers, and
Referred to: Rules, Calendar and Operations of the House.	_
April 2, 1997	
A BILL TO BE ENTITLED  AN ACT TO MODIFY THE MEMBERSHIP OF THE NORTHEASTERN NORTH CAROLINA ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION SO THAT ALL SIXTEEN COUNTIES OF THE REGION ARE REPRESENTED ON THE COMMISSION.  The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:	
Section 1. G.S. 158-8.2(b) reads as rewritten:  "(b) The Commission shall consist of 17 members appointed 1 three ex officio members, and an unspecified number of elected members of elected members shall be appointed by the Govodeveloper of northeastern North Carolina, one commissioner from Camden, Currituck, Pasque Counties, or from the county or counties assigned the Department of Commerce as authorized by commissioner from Beaufort, Bertie, Chowan, of from the county or counties assigned to the Department of Commerce as authorized by law; law; law; law; law; law; law; law;	mbers as follows: vernor, including one banker, one county otank, or Perquimans to the Commission by law, and one county r Martin Counties, or Commission by the w.
(2) Five members shall be appointed by the General recommendation of the President Pro Temporal	

- accordance with G.S. 120-121, including one developer of northeastern North Carolina, one banker, and one county commissioner from Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, or Washington Counties; Counties.

  Five members shall be appointed by the General Assembly upon the recommendation of the Speaker of the House of Representatives in accordance with G.S. 120-121, including one developer of northeastern North Carolina, one banker, and one county commissioner from
  - (4) The Secretary of Commerce or a designee; and Commerce, or a designee.

Halifax, Hertford, Gates, or Northampton Counties; Counties.

- (5) The Secretary of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources, or a designee.
- (6) The Secretary of Cultural Resources, or a designee.
- (7) Additional members elected by the appointed members as follows: At the first meeting of the Commission following a change in the appointed membership of the Commission, the Commission shall determine the county of which each appointed member is a resident. If any county of the region described in subsection (a) of this section has no appointed member residing in it, the appointed members shall elect an additional member who is a resident of that county. The elected member's term of office ends the next time there is a change in the appointed membership of the Commission, although the elected member may be reelected if, after the change in appointed membership, there is still no appointed member who is a resident of the same county as the elected member.

Any person appointed to the Commission in a categorical appointment as a county commissioner may hold such office in addition to the offices permitted by G.S. 128-1.1."

Section 2. This act becomes effective July 1, 1997, and applies to changes in membership of the Northeastern North Carolina Regional Economic Development Commission that occur on or after that date.