GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2001

Η

HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1163

Sponsors:	Representatives Russell, Baddour, Hurley, Grady (Primary Sponsors); Barefoot, Bell, Davis, Goodwin, McAllister, Morris, Nye, Preston, Smith, Tucker, Wainwright, Warner, Warwick, and Yongue.
Referred to:	Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House.

April 12, 2001

1	A JOINT RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING FORT BRAGG, CAMP LEJEUNE,
2	AND SEYMOUR JOHNSON AIR FORCE BASE AS RECIPIENTS OF THE 2001
3	COMMANDER IN CHIEF'S AWARD FOR INSTALLATION EXCELLENCE
4	AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF BRAXTON BRAGG, JOHN A.
5	LEJEUNE, SEYMOUR JOHNSON, AND THE MEN AND WOMEN ASSIGNED
6	TO THESE MILITARY INSTALLATIONS WHO DIED IN THE LINE OF DUTY.
7	Whereas, on March 23, 2001, Secretary of Defense, Donald H. Rumsfeld,
8	announced the winners of the 2001 Commander In Chief's Award for Installation
9	Excellence, which included three installations in North Carolina; and
10	Whereas, Fort Bragg of Fayetteville, home of the 18 th Airborne Corps, the
11	82 nd Airborne Corps, and the Army's Special Forces, won the Army award; and
12	Whereas, Camp Lejeune of Jacksonville, home of the 2 nd Marine Division,
13	captured the Marine Corps award; and
14	Whereas, Seymour Johnson Air Force Base of Goldsboro, home of the 4 th
15	Fighter Wing and the 916 th Air Reserve Wing, was honored with the Air Force award;
16	and
17	Whereas, the Commander In Chief's Award for Installation Excellence
18	recognizes "the outstanding and innovative efforts of the people who operate and
19	maintain United States military installations"; and
20	Whereas, each installation excelled in working, housing, and recreational
21	conditions; and
22	Whereas, each installation will receive additional funds to enable better
23	mission performance and to enhance the quality of life for military personnel; and
24	Whereas, the Commander In Chief's Award for Installation Excellence
25	reflects favorably on the late military leaders for whom these installations are named:
26	General Braxton Bragg, a Confederate commander and Warren County native; Major

GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

1 General John A. Lejeune, World War I Marine Commandant; and Lt. Seymour Johnson, 2 a Navy test pilot and Goldsboro native; and 3 Whereas, the award is a fitting testimonial and memorial to the commitment 4 and dedication of the men and women who served at Fort Bragg, Camp Lejeune, and 5 Seymour Johnson and died while in the line of duty; Now, therefore, 6 Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring: 7 **SECTION 1.** The General Assembly honors the memory of Braxton Bragg, 8 John A. Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson and the many men and women assigned to Fort 9 Bragg, Camp Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson who gave their lives in the line of duty. 10 **SECTION 2.** The General Assembly wishes to congratulate Fort Bragg, 11 Camp Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson Air Force Base on becoming the 2001 recipients 12 of the Commander In Chief's Award for Installation Excellence. 13 **SECTION 3.** The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the commander of Fort Bragg, Camp Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson Air 14 15 Force Base. 16 **SECTION 4.** This resolution is effective upon ratification.