GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA

SESSION 2001 **RATIFIED BILL**

RESOLUTION 2001-14 HOUSE JOINT RESOLUTION 1163

A JOINT RESOLUTION CONGRATULATING FORT BRAGG, CAMP LEJEUNE, AND SEYMOUR JOHNSON AIR FORCE BASE AS RECIPIENTS OF THE 2001 COMMANDER IN CHIEF'S AWARD FOR INSTALLATION EXCELLENCE AND HONORING THE MEMORY OF BRAXTON BRAGG, JOHN A. LEJEUNE, SEYMOUR JOHNSON, AND THE MEN AND WOMEN ASSIGNED TO THESE MILITARY INSTALLATIONS WHO DIED IN THE LINE OF DUTY.

Whereas, on March 23, 2001, Secretary of Defense, Donald H. Rumsfeld, announced the winners of the 2001 Commander In Chief's Award for Installation Excellence, which included three installations in North Carolina; and
Whereas, Fort Bragg of Fayetteville, home of the 18th Airborne Corps, the

82nd Airborne Division, and the Army's Special Forces, won the Army award; and Whereas, Camp Lejeune of Jacksonville, home of the 2nd Marine Division,

captured the Marine Corps award; and

Whereas, Seymour Johnson Air Force Base of Goldsboro, home of the 4th Fighter Wing and the 916th Air Reserve Wing, was honored with the Air Force award; and

Whereas, the Commander In Chief's Award for Installation Excellence recognizes "the outstanding and innovative efforts of the people who operate and maintain United States military installations"; and

Whereas, each installation excelled in working, housing, and recreational conditions; and

Whereas, each installation will receive additional funds to enable better mission performance and to enhance the quality of life for military personnel; and

Whereas, the Commander In Chief's Award for Installation Excellence reflects favorably on the late military leaders for whom these installations are named: General Braxton Bragg, a Confederate commander and Warren County native; Major General John A. Lejeune, World War I Marine Commandant; and Lt. Seymour Johnson, a Navy test pilot and Goldsboro native; and

Whereas, the award is a fitting testimonial and memorial to the commitment and dedication of the men and women who served at Fort Bragg, Camp Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson and died while in the line of duty; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the House of Representatives, the Senate concurring:

SECTION 1. The General Assembly honors the memory of Braxton Bragg, John A. Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson and the many men and women assigned to Fort Bragg, Camp Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson who gave their lives in the line of duty.

SECTION 2. The General Assembly wishes to congratulate Fort Bragg, Camp Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson Air Force Base on becoming the 2001 recipients of the Commander In Chief's Award for Installation Excellence.

SECTION 3. The Secretary of State shall transmit a certified copy of this resolution to the commander of Fort Bragg, Camp Lejeune, and Seymour Johnson Air Force Base.

SECTION 4. This resolution is effective upon ratification.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 22nd day of May, 2001.

Beverly E. Perdue
President of the Senate

Speaker of the House of Representatives