GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

HOUSE DRH30500-LL-338 (05/05)

Short Title: District 6A Judges/Funds.

Sponsors:	Representative Ed Jones.
Referred to:	

1		A BILL TO BE ENTIT	TLED
2	AN ACT TO APPRO	PRIATE FUNDS TO E	ESTABLISH AN ADDITIONAL
3	DISTRICT COURT J	UDGESHIP IN DISTRICT	COURT DISTRICT 6A.
4	The General Assembly of	North Carolina enacts:	
5	SECTION 1.	G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rev	vritten:
6	"§ 7A-133. Numbers of	judges by districts; numb	ers of magistrates and additional
7	seats of court,	by counties.	
8	(a) Each district co	ourt district shall have the n	umbers of judges as set forth in the
9	following table:		
10	District	Judges	County
11	1	5	Camden
12			Chowan
13			Currituck
14			Dare
15			Gates
16			Pasquotank
17			Perquimans
18	2	4	Martin
19			Beaufort
20			Tyrrell
21			Hyde
22			Washington
23	3A	5	Pitt
24	3B	5	Craven
25			Pamlico
26			Carteret
27	4	8	Sampson

D

(Public)

Gen	eral Assembly of Nor	Session 2005	
			Duplin
			Jones
			Onslow
	5	8	New Hanover
	0	U U	Pender
	6A	2 3	Halifax
	6B	2 <u>3</u> 3	Northampton
		5	Bertie
			Hertford
	7	7	Nash
	7	1	Edgecombe
			Wilson
	8	6	Wayne
	0	0	Greene
			Lenoir
	9	4	Granville
	9	4	
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
		2	Franklin
	9A	2	Person
	0.D	2	Caswell
	9B	2	Warren
			(part of Vance
			see subsection (b))
	10	15	Wake
	11	8	Harnett
			Johnston
			Lee
	12	9	Cumberland
	13	6	Bladen
			Brunswick
			Columbus
	14	6	Durham
	15A	4	Alamance
	15B	4	Orange
			Chatham
	16A	3	Scotland
			Hoke
	16B	5	Robeson
	17A	2	Rockingham
	17B	4	Stokes
		·	Surry
	18	12	Guilford
	19A	4	Cabarrus

Gene	eral Assembly of Nor	Session 200	
	19B	6	Montgomery
	172	Ū	Moore
			Randolph
	19C	4	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
	2011		Anson
			Richmond
	20B	3	Union
	202	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
			Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
	20	т	Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
	24	7	Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	8	Burke
	23	0	Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	17	Mecklenburg
	20 27A	6	Gaston
	27R 27B	4	Cleveland
	270	Т	Lincoln
	28	6	Buncombe
	20 29A	3	McDowell
		5	Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
		т	Polk
			Transylvania
	30	5	Cherokee
	50	5	Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain."

1	SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge
2	for District 6A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the
3	2008 election for a four-year term commencing on January 1, 2009.
4	SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
5	Department the sum of seventy-eight thousand five hundred forty-eight dollars
6	(\$78,548) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the additional district court
7	independing for District Court District (A outh animad by this act

judgeship for District Court District 6A authorized by this act. 7 8

SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 15, 2007.