GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

Η

HOUSE BILL 2364

Sponsors:Representative Ed Jones.Referred to:Appropriations.

May 23, 2006

1		A BILL TO BE ENTIT	LED			
2	AN ACT TO APPRO	PRIATE FUNDS TO E	STABLISH AN ADDITIONAL			
3	DISTRICT COURT J	UDGESHIP IN DISTRICT	COURT DISTRICT 6A.			
4	The General Assembly of	North Carolina enacts:				
5	SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133(a) reads as rewritten:					
6	"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additiona					
7	seats of court, by counties.					
8	(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the					
9	following table:					
10	District	Judges	County			
11	1	5	Camden			
12			Chowan			
13			Currituck			
14			Dare			
15			Gates			
16			Pasquotank			
17			Perquimans			
18	2	4	Martin			
19			Beaufort			
20			Tyrrell			
21			Hyde			
22			Washington			
23	3A	5	Pitt			
24	3B	5	Craven			
25			Pamlico			
26			Carteret			
27	4	8	Sampson			
28			Duplin			
29			Jones			

(Public)

Ger	eral Assembly of Nor	rth Carolina	Session 2005	
			Onslow	
	5	8	New Hanover	
			Pender	
	6A	2 <u>3</u>	Halifax	
	6B	3	Northampton	
	-	-	Bertie	
			Hertford	
	7	7	Nash	
			Edgecombe	
			Wilson	
	8	6	Wayne	
	0	0	Greene	
			Lenoir	
	9	4	Granville	
		Т	(part of Vance	
			see subsection (b))	
			Franklin	
	9A	2	Person	
	9A	Ζ.	Caswell	
	9B	2	Warren	
	9D	Ζ.		
			(part of Vance	
	10	15	see subsection (b))	
	10	15	Wake	
	11	8	Harnett	
			Johnston	
	10	0	Lee	
	12	9	Cumberland	
	13	6	Bladen	
			Brunswick	
			Columbus	
	14	6	Durham	
	15A	4	Alamance	
	15B	4	Orange	
			Chatham	
	16A	3	Scotland	
			Hoke	
	16B	5	Robeson	
	17A	2	Rockingham	
	17B	4	Stokes	
			Surry	
	18	12	Guilford	
	19A	4	Cabarrus	
	19B	6	Montgomery	
			Moore	

Gen	eral Assembly of Nor	Session 2005		
			Randolph	
	19C	4	Rowan	
	20A	4	Stanly	
			Anson	
			Richmond	
	20B	3	Union	
	21	9	Forsyth	
	22	9	Alexander	
		-	Davidson	
			Davie	
			Iredell	
	23	4	Alleghany	
	20		Ashe	
			Wilkes	
			Yadkin	
	24	4	Avery	
	2 -T	7	Madison	
			Mitchell	
			Watauga	
			Yancey	
	25	8	Burke	
	20	0	Caldwell	
			Catawba	
	26	17	Mecklenburg	
	20 27A	6	Gaston	
	27A 27B	4	Cleveland	
	27 D	4	Lincoln	
	28	6	Buncombe	
		6 3	McDowell	
	29A	5		
	200	Λ	Rutherford	
	29B	4	Henderson	
			Polk	
	20	F	Transylvania	
	30	5	Cherokee	
			Clay	
			Graham	
			Haywood	
			Jackson	
			Macon	
			Swain."	
c -	SECTION 2. The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judg			
tor	for District 6A authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the			

43 2008 election for a four-year term commencing on January 1, 2009.

General Assembly of North Carolina

SECTION 3. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial
Department the sum of seventy-eight thousand five hundred forty-eight dollars
(\$78,548) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the additional district court
judgeship for District Court District 6A authorized by this act.
SECTION 4. This act becomes effective January 15, 2007.