GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

S SENATE DRS85416-LL-331 (5/11)

Short Title: District 15B Judge/ADA Funds. (Public)

Sponsors: Senator Kinnaird.

Referred to:

5

6

7

8

9

10

1 A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2 AN ACT TO APPROPRIATE FUNDS TO ESTABLISH AN ADDITIONAL DISTRICT COURT JUDGESHIP AND THREE ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT DISTRICT ATTORNEY POSITIONS IN DISTRICT 15B.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:

"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additional seats of court, by counties.

(a) Each district court district shall have the numbers of judges as set forth in the following table:

11	District	Judges	County
12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	5	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret

Ge	neral Assembly of No	Session 2005	
1	4	8	Sampson
2			Duplin
3			Jones
4			Onslow
5	5	8	New Hanover
6			Pender
7	6A	2	Halifax
8	6B	3	Northampton
9			Bertie
10			Hertford
11	7	7	Nash
12			Edgecombe
13			Wilson
14	8	6	Wayne
15			Greene
16			Lenoir
17	9	4	Granville
18			(part of Vance
19			see subsection (b))
20			Franklin
21	9A	2	Person
22			Caswell
23	9B	2	Warren
24			(part of Vance
25			see subsection (b))
26	10	15	Wake
27	11	8	Harnett
28			Johnston
29			Lee
30	12	9	Cumberland
31	13	6	Bladen
32			Brunswick
33			Columbus
34	14	6	Durham
35	15A	4	Alamance
36	15B	4 <u>5</u>	Orange
37			Chatham
38	16A	3	Scotland
39			Hoke
40	16B	5	Robeson
41	17A	2	Rockingham
42	17B	4	Stokes
43			Surry
44	18	12	Guilford

Page 2 S1747 [Filed]

Gen	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 200:
	19A	4	Cabarrus
	19B	6	Montgomery
	1,2	· ·	Moore
			Randolph
	19C	4	Rowan
	20A	4	Stanly
			Anson
			Richmond
	20B	3	Union
	21	9	Forsyth
	22	9	Alexander
			Davidson
			Davie
			Iredell
	23	4	Alleghany
			Ashe
			Wilkes
			Yadkin
	24	4	Avery
			Madison
			Mitchell
			Watauga
			Yancey
	25	8	Burke
			Caldwell
			Catawba
	26	17	Mecklenburg
	27A	6	Gaston
	27B	4	Cleveland
			Lincoln
	28	6	Buncombe
	29A	3	McDowell
			Rutherford
	29B	4	Henderson
			Polk
		_	Transylvania
	30	5	Cherokee
			Clay
			Graham
			Haywood
			Jackson
			Macon
			Swain."

S1747 [Filed] Page 3

1 2

3

4

5

6 7 **SECTION 2.** The Governor shall appoint the additional district court judge for District 15B authorized by this act, and that judge's successor shall be elected in the 2008 election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in December 2008.

SECTION 3. G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

8	in the following table.		No. of Full-Time
9	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
10	District	Counties	Attorneys
11	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	10
12	1	Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	10
13		Perquimans	
14	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	6
15	2	Tyrrell, Washington	O
16	3A	Pitt	9
17	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	10
18	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	14
19		Sampson	
20	5	New Hanover, Pender	14
21	6A	Halifax	4
22	6B	Bertie, Hertford,	4
23		Northampton	
24	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	16
25	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	11
26	9	Franklin, Granville,	11
27		Vance, Warren	
28	9A	Person, Caswell	4
29	10	Wake	31
30	11	Harnett, Johnston, Lee	14
31	12	Cumberland	18
32	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	11
33	14	Durham	13
34	15A	Alamance	8
35	15B	Orange, Chatham	7 <u>10</u>
36	16A	Scotland, Hoke	5
37	16B	Robeson	10
38	17A	Rockingham	5
39	17B	Stokes, Surry	5
40	18	Guilford	27
41	19A	Cabarrus	6
42	19B	Montgomery, Moore, Randolph	11
43	19C	Rowan	5
44	20	Anson, Richmond,	15

Page 4 S1747 [Filed]

	General Assembly of North Carolina			Session 2005
1			Stanly, Union	
2	21		Forsyth	17
3	22		Alexander, Davidson, Davie,	16
4			Iredell	
5	23		Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	5
6			Yadkin	
7	24		Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	4
8			Watauga, Yancey	
9	25		Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	15
10	26		Mecklenburg	36
11	27A		Gaston	12
12	27B		Cleveland,	9
13			Lincoln	
14	28		Buncombe	11
15	29		Henderson, McDowell, Polk,	11
16			Rutherford, Transylvania	
17	30		Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	9
18			Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
19			Swain."	
20		SECTION 4.	There is appropriated from the	General Fund to the Judicial

SECTION 4. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy-two dollars (\$89,172) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the additional district court judgeship for District Court District 15B authorized by this act.

 SECTION 5. There is appropriated from the General Fund to the Judicial Department the sum of two hundred fifty-four thousand eighty-eight dollars (\$254,088) for the 2006-2007 fiscal year to establish the three additional assistant district attorney positions for Prosecutorial District 15B authorized by this act.

SECTION 6. Section 1 of this act becomes effective December 15, 2006. The remainder of this act becomes effective July 1, 2006.

S1747 [Filed] Page 5