GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2005

SENATE BILL 1747

1

(Public)

Short Title	District 15B Judge/ADA Funds.	
Short The.	District 15D Judge/1D/11 unds.	

Sponsors:Senators Kinnaird; Atwater and Boseman.Referred to:Appropriations/Base Budget.

May 23, 2006

1		A BILL TO BE ENTIT	ГLED
2	AN ACT TO APPRC	OPRIATE FUNDS TO H	ESTABLISH AN ADDITIONAL
3	DISTRICT COURT	JUDGESHIP AND THE	REE ADDITIONAL ASSISTANT
4	DISTRICT ATTORNEY POSITIONS IN DISTRICT 15B.		
5	The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:		
6	SECTION 1. G.S. 7A-133 reads as rewritten:		
7	"§ 7A-133. Numbers of judges by districts; numbers of magistrates and additiona		
8	seats of court, by counties.		
9	(a) Each district co	ourt district shall have the n	numbers of judges as set forth in the
10	following table:		
11	District	Judges	County
12	1	5	Camden
13			Chowan
14			Currituck
15			Dare
16			Gates
17			Pasquotank
18			Perquimans
19	2	4	Martin
20			Beaufort
21			Tyrrell
22			Hyde
23			Washington
24	3A	5	Pitt
25	3B	5	Craven
26			Pamlico
27			Carteret
28	4	8	Sampson
29			Duplin

General Assembly of North Carolina		na	Session 2005	
			Jones	
			Onslow	
5		8	New Hanover	
			Pender	
64	Α	2	Halifax	
6E	}	2 3	Northampton	
			Bertie	
			Hertford	
7		7	Nash	
			Edgecombe	
			Wilson	
8		6	Wayne	
			Greene	
			Lenoir	
9		4	Granville	
			(part of Vance	
			see subsection (b))	
			Franklin	
9 <i>A</i>	Α	2	Person	
			Caswell	
9E	}	2	Warren	
			(part of Vance	
			see subsection (b))	
10		15	Wake	
11		8	Harnett	
			Johnston	
			Lee	
12		9	Cumberland	
13		6	Bladen	
			Brunswick	
			Columbus	
14		6	Durham	
15	A	4	Alamance	
15	B	4 <u>5</u>	Orange	
			Chatham	
16	iΑ	3	Scotland	
			Hoke	
16	B	5	Robeson	
17	Ά	2	Rockingham	
17	B	4	Stokes	
			Surry	
18		12	Guilford	
19		4	Cabarrus	
	В	6	Montgomery	

	General Assembly of North Carolina		Session 2005	
1			Moore	
2			Randolph	
3	19C	4	Rowan	
4	20A	4	Stanly	
5			Anson	
6			Richmond	
7	20B	3	Union	
8	21	9	Forsyth	
9	22	9	Alexander	
0			Davidson	
1			Davie	
2			Iredell	
3	23	4	Alleghany	
4			Ashe	
5			Wilkes	
6			Yadkin	
7	24	4	Avery	
8			Madison	
9			Mitchell	
0			Watauga	
1			Yancey	
22	25	8	Burke	
3			Caldwell	
4			Catawba	
5	26	17	Mecklenburg	
6	27A	6	Gaston	
7	27B	4	Cleveland	
8			Lincoln	
9	28	6	Buncombe	
0	29A	3	McDowell	
1			Rutherford	
52	29B	4	Henderson	
3			Polk	
4			Transylvania	
85	30	5	Cherokee	
86			Clay	
57			Graham	
8			Haywood	
9			Jackson	
-0			Macon	
1			Swain."	
12	SECTION 2.	The Governor shall appor	int the additional district court judge	
3			lge's successor shall be elected in the	
44		-	the first Monday in December 2008.	

44 2008 election for a four-year term commencing on the first Monday in December 2008.

General Assembly of North Carolina

 2 "(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, 3 district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys 4 in the following table: 	set forth
•	
	ime
5 No. of Full-T	
6 Prosecutorial Asst. Distri	
7 District Counties Attorneys	
8 1 Camden, Chowan, Currituck, 10	
9 Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
10 Perquimans	
112Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,6	
12 Tyrrell, Washington	
13 3A Pitt 9	
143BCarteret, Craven, Pamlico10	
15 4 Duplin, Jones, Onslow, 14	
16 Sampson	
175New Hanover, Pender14	
18 6A Halifax 4	
106BBertie, Hertford,4	
20 Northampton	
217Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson16	
228Greene, Lenoir, Wayne11	
239Franklin, Granville,11	
24 Vance, Warren	
25 9A Person, Caswell 4	
26 10 Wake 31	
2711Harnett, Johnston, Lee14	
28 12 Cumberland 18	
2913Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus11	
30 14 Durham 13	
31 15A Alamance 8	
32 15B Orange, Chatham 7	10
33 16A Scotland, Hoke 5	
34 16B Robeson 10	
35 17A Rockingham 5	
3617BStokes, Surry5	
37 18 Guilford 27	
3819ACabarrus6	
3919BMontgomery, Moore, Randolph11	
40 19C Rowan 5	
41 20 Anson, Richmond, 15	
42 Stanly, Union	
43 21 Forsyth 17	
4422Alexander, Davidson, Davie,16	

	General Assemb	oly of North Carolina	Session 2005
1		Iredell	
2	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	5
3		Yadkin	-
4	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	4
5		Watauga, Yancey	
6	25	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	15
7	26	Mecklenburg	36
8	27A	Gaston	12
9	27B	Cleveland,	9
10		Lincoln	
11	28	Buncombe	11
12	29	Henderson, McDowell, Polk,	11
13		Rutherford, Transylvania	
14	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	9
15		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,	
16		Swain."	
17	SECT	ION 4. There is appropriated from the Genera	l Fund to the Judicial
18	Department the s	um of eighty-nine thousand one hundred seventy	-two dollars (\$89,172)
19	for the 2006-20	07 fiscal year to establish the additional distric	ct court judgeship for
20	District Court Di	strict 15B authorized by this act.	
21	SECT	ION 5. There is appropriated from the Genera	l Fund to the Judicial
22	Department the s	sum of two hundred fifty-four thousand eighty-ei	ght dollars (\$254,088)
23	for the 2006-200	7 fiscal year to establish the three additional ass	sistant district attorney
24	positions for Pro-	secutorial District 15B authorized by this act.	
25	SECT	ION 6. Section 1 of this act becomes effective	Procember 15 2006

25 SECTION 6. Section 1 of this act becomes effective December 15, 2006.
 26 The remainder of this act becomes effective July 1, 2006.