GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA **SESSION 2019**

S

FILED SENATE Mar 6, 2019 **S.B. 194** PRINCIPAL CLERK D

SENATE BILL DRS35076-LMx-53

Short Title:	West Jefferson Satellite Annexations.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Ballard (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:		

1 2		A BILL TO BE ENTITLED REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE TOWN OF
3		JEFFERSON.
4	The Gener	al Assembly of North Carolina enacts:
5		SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten:
6	"§ 160A-5	8.1. Petition for annexation; standards.
7	•••	
8	(b)	A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following
9	standards:	
10		
11		(5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area
12		within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%)
13		of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city.
14		This subdivision does not apply to the Cities of Belmont, Claremont,
15		Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, Greenville, Hickory,
16		Kannapolis, Locust, Marion, Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton,
17		Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Sanford, Salisbury,
18		Southport, Statesville, and Washington and the Towns of Ahoskie, Angier,
19		Apex, Ayden, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage,
20		Catawba, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas,
21		Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Granite
22		Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly Springs,
23		Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly,
24		Knightdale, Landis, Leland, Lillington, Louisburg, Maggie Valley, Maiden,
25		Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount
26		Pleasant, Nashville, Oak Island, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level,
27		Pollocksville, Princeton, Ranlo, Richlands, Rolesville, Rutherfordton,
28		Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stem, Stovall, Surf
29		City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha,
30		Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor,
31		Yadkinville, and Zebulon.
32	"	
33		SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.

