## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2019

S SENATE BILL 217

Short Title:	Correct Prosecutorial District Numbers.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senators Britt and Daniel (Primary Sponsors).	
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate	

## March 12, 2019

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO NUMERICALLY REALIGN PROSECUTORIAL DISTRICTS WITH SUPERIOR AND DISTRICT COURT DISTRICTS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

4

5

6

7 8 **SECTION 1.(a)** Effective July 1, 2019, G.S. 7A-60(a1) reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

9			No. of Full-Time
10	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
11	District	Counties	Attorneys
12	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
13		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
14		Perquimans	
15	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	8
16		Tyrrell, Washington	
17	<u>33A</u>	Pitt	12
18	4 <u>3B</u>	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	13
19	<u>54</u>	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	19
20		Sampson	
21	<u>65</u>	New Hanover, Pender	19
22	<del>7</del> 6	Bertie, Halifax, Hertford,	11
23		Northampton	
24	<del>8</del> 7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	19
25	<u>98</u>	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14
26	10	Wake	42
27	<del>11</del> 9	Franklin, Granville, Person	15
28		Vance, Warren	
29	<del>12</del> 11A	Harnett, Lee	11
30	<del>13</del> 11B	Johnston	10
31	<del>14</del> <u>12</u>	Cumberland	25
32	<u> 1513</u>	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	14
33	<del>16</del> <u>14</u>	Durham	18
34	<del>17</del> 15A	Alamance	12
35	<del>18</del> 15B	Orange, Chatham	10
36	<del>19</del> 31	Scotland, Hoke	10



	<b>General Assembly</b>	General Assembly Of North Carolina Session 2		
1	<del>20</del> 16B	Robeson	12	
2	21 <u>16A</u>	Anson, Richmond	6	
3	<del>22</del> 17A	Caswell, Rockingham	8	
4	<del>23</del> 17B	Stokes, Surry	8	
5	<del>24</del> 18	Guilford	34	
6	<del>25</del> 19A	Cabarrus	9	
7	26	Mecklenburg	58	
8	<del>27</del> 19C	Rowan	9	
9	<del>28</del> 20A	Montgomery, Stanly	6	
10	<del>29</del> 19D	Moore	5	
11	<del>30</del> 20B	Union	11	
12	<del>31</del> 21	Forsyth	27	
13	<del>32</del> 22A	Alexander, Iredell	12	
14	<del>33</del> 22B	Davidson, Davie	12	
15	<del>34</del> 23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	9	
16		Yadkin		
17	<del>35</del> <u>24</u>	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	8	
18		Watauga, Yancey		
19	<del>36</del> <u>25</u>	Burke, Caldwell, Catawba	19	
20	<del>37</del> 19B	Randolph	10	
21	<del>38</del> 27A	Gaston	15	
22	<del>39</del> 27B	Cleveland,	12	
23		Lincoln		
24	<del>40</del> 28	Buncombe	14	
25	41 <u>29A</u>	McDowell, Rutherford	8	
26	42 <u>29B</u>	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	9	
27	43 <u>30</u>	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	12	
28		Haywood, Jackson, Macon,		
29		Swain."		
30	SECTIO	<b>ON 1.(b)</b> The Revisor of Statutes is authorized to	reorder this list in numerical	

**SECTION 1.(b)** The Revisor of Statutes is authorized to reorder this list in numerical order according to the prosecutorial district numbers.

**SECTION 2.** Effective January 1, 2023, G.S. 7A-60(a1), as amended by Section 1 of this act, reads as rewritten:

"(a1) The counties of the State are organized into prosecutorial districts, and each district has the counties and the number of full-time assistant district attorneys set forth in the following table:

37			No. of Full-Time
38	Prosecutorial		Asst. District
39	District	Counties	Attorneys
40	1	Camden, Chowan, Currituck,	11
41		Dare, Gates, Pasquotank,	
42		Perquimans	
43	2	Beaufort, Hyde, Martin,	8
44		Tyrrell, Washington	
45	3A	Pitt	12
46	3B	Carteret, Craven, Pamlico	13
47	4	Duplin, Jones, Onslow,	19
48		Sampson	
49	5	New Hanover, Pender	19
50	6	Bertie, Halifax, Hertford,	11
51		Northampton	

31

32 33

3435

36

General Assembly Of North Carolina Session 2				ssion 2019
	7	Edgecombe, Nash, Wilson	19	
	8	Greene, Lenoir, Wayne	14	
	9	Franklin, Granville, Person	15	
		Vance, Warren		
	10	Wake	42	
	11A	Harnett, Lee	11	
	11B	Johnston	10	
	12	Cumberland	25	
	13	Bladen, Brunswick, Columbus	14	
	14	Durham	18	
	15A	Alamance	12	
	15B	Orange, Chatham	10	
	16A	Anson, Richmond, Scotland	9	
	16B	Robeson	12	
	17A	Caswell, Rockingham	8	
	17B	Stokes, Surry	8	
	18	Guilford	34	
	19A	Cabarrus	9	
	19B	Randolph	10	
	19C	Rowan	9	
	19D	Hoke, Moore	9	
	20A	Montgomery, Stanly	6	
	20B	Union	11	
	21	Forsyth	27	
	22A	Alexander, Iredell	12	
	22B	Davidson, Davie	12	
	23	Alleghany, Ashe, Wilkes,	9	
	_0	Yadkin		
	24	Avery, Madison, Mitchell,	8	
		Watauga, Yancey	· ·	
	<del>25</del> 25A	Burke, <del>Caldwell, Catawba</del> <u>Caldwell</u>	<del>19</del> 9	
	25 <u>2511</u> 25 <u>B</u>	Catawba	<u>10</u>	
	<u>265</u> 26	Mecklenburg	<del>10</del> 58	
	27A	Gaston	15	
	27B	Cleveland,	12	
	210	Lincoln	12	
	28	Buncombe	14	
	29A	McDowell, Rutherford	8	
	29B	Henderson, Polk, Transylvania	9	
	30	Cherokee, Clay, Graham,	12	
	30	Haywood, Jackson, Macon, Swain."	12	
	CT CT	<b>ION 3.</b> Except as otherwise provided this act is effective.		