SENATE RESOLUTION 94

Sponsors:	Senators Robinson, Clark, Smith (Primary Sponsors); Daniel, deViere, Garrett Lowe, Nickel, Steinburg, Waddell, and Woodard.
Referred to:	Rules and Operations of the Senate

1

February 20, 2019

A SENATE RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING NORTH CAROLINA AGRICULTURAL AND TECHNICAL **STATE** UNIVERSITY **FOR** ITS LONG AND **STORIED CONTRIBUTIONS** TO THE **EDUCATION** AND **TRAINING** OF AFRICAN-AMERICANS AND **OTHER DIVERSE STUDENTS AND** CONGRATULATING THE UNIVERSITY'S FOOTBALL TEAM ON WINNING THE 2018 HISTORICALLY BLACK COLLEGES AND UNIVERSITIES NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP.

Whereas, North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University (N.C. A&T) was founded in 1891, in response to the Second Morrill Act passed by the U.S. Congress in 1890; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T is a land-grant doctoral university, with "higher research activity," as ranked by the Carnegie Classification of Institutions of Higher Education, and is among North Carolina's three most productive public research campuses; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T was ranked No. 2 in 2017 by U.S. News & World Report among public historically black colleges and universities (HBCUs) and is the largest HBCU; and

Whereas, according to U.S. Department of Education data reported in the magazine *Diverse Issues in Higher Education*, N.C. A&T ranks:

- (1) No. 1 in the United States in undergraduate graduation of African-Americans with a degree in engineering and No. 1 in graduation of African-Americans with a master's degree in mathematics and statistics.
- (2) No. 2 in the United States in undergraduate graduation of African-Americans with a degree in engineering technology and engineering-related studies; parks, recreation, and leisure studies; and agriculture; and No. 2 in graduation of African-Americans with a master's degree in engineering and physical sciences; and

Whereas, N.C. A&T's vast alumni include: Ronald McNair, physicist and NASA astronaut, who died during the launch of Space Shuttle Challenger in 1986; U.S. Representative Alma Adams, who also served nearly two decades in the North Carolina House of Representatives; Reverend Jesse Jackson Sr., prominent civil rights leader; the A&T Four, Jibreel Khazan, Joseph McNeil, Franklin McCain (deceased), and David Richmond (deceased), whose brave sit-in at the Woolworth lunch counter in Greensboro helped spark the desegregation of dining facilities across the South; former NBA player and current Golden State Warriors vice president Alvin Attles; and current university Chancellor Harold L. Martin Sr.; and

Whereas, Chancellor Martin was listed as one of five university leaders to watch in 2018 by *Education Dive*, an online publication that provides news and analysis for higher education and K-12 leaders, and named among the Triad's Most Admired CEOs by the Triad Business Journal in 2016; and



S

5 6 7

8

1 2

3

4

9 10

11

12

13 14 15

16 17 18

19 20 21

23 24 25

22

26272829

30

31

32 33

> 34 35

36 37 Whereas, in addition to N.C. A&T's long history of providing an academic environment in which students thrive and excel, the University also has an outstanding record of excellence and accomplishments in its athletic programs; and

Whereas, on December 15, 2018, N.C. A&T football team (the Aggies) defeated Alcorn State University by a score of 24-22 during the 2018 Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl held in Atlanta, Georgia; and

8 an

Whereas, the Celebration Bowl determines the national champion among HBCUs;

8 and9

Whereas, N.C. A&T has won three of the four championships since the Celebration Bowl began in 2015; and

Whereas, on the road to the 2018 national championship title, the Aggies defeated Jacksonville State University, East Carolina University, Gardner-Webb University, South Carolina State University, Delaware State University, Bethune-Cookman University, Norfolk State University, Savannah State University, and North Carolina Central University; and

 Whereas, the Aggies finished their 2018 season with a record of 10-2 and ranked 11th in the nation in the FCS STATS Media Poll and 12th in the American Football Coaches Association (AFCA) coaches poll; and

 Whereas, the team received a ranking of No. 1 in the BoxToRow coaches poll for HBCUs, an honor the team has earned three times in four years; and

Whereas, the Aggies also won their fourth Mid-Eastern Athletic Conference (MEAC) title in five years; and

 Whereas, Head Football Coach Sam Washington was named the MEAC Coach of the Year, an outstanding honor for the first-year head coach; and

Whereas, several individual team members were recognized for their efforts during the season and were selected to All-American and All-Conference teams, including Senior Micah Shaw, who was named the MEAC Offensive Lineman of the Year, and Darryl Johnson, Jr., who was named the MEAC's Defensive MVP; and

Whereas, the Aggies' past and current athletic prowess and victories on the field give its alumni and supporters cause and frequent occasion to shout their mantra, "Aggie Pride"; and

 Whereas, N.C. A&T's outstanding academic and athletic accomplishments have brought honor, distinction, and pride to the State of North Carolina and thus deserve recognition by the State; Now, therefore,

Be it resolved by the Senate:

SECTION 1. The Senate recognizes and supports North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University for its dedication and commitment to educating students in varied fields of graduate and undergraduate study; for its successes in creating leaders in science, technology, and other areas; and for its successes in its athletic programs, including football.

SECTION 2. The Senate congratulates the Aggies of North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University on their 2018 Air Force Reserve Celebration Bowl victory.

SECTION 3. The Senate appreciates the efforts of each and every member of the 2018 football team of North Carolina Agricultural and Technical State University and their head coach.

SECTION 4. The Principal Clerk shall transmit a copy of this resolution to Chancellor Harold L. Martin Sr., Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Earl Hilton III, and Head Football Coach Sam Washington.

SECTION 5. This resolution is effective upon adoption.