GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2023

H HOUSE BILL 1078

Short Title:	Additional General Assembly Appointments.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Representative D. Hall.	
	For a complete list of sponsors, refer to the North Carolina General Assembly w	eb site.
Referred to:	Rules, Calendar, and Operations of the House	

November 19, 2024

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE AND TO MAKE MODIFICATIONS TO PREVIOUS APPOINTMENTS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

PART I. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 1.1. Tara P. Knight of Johnston County is appointed to the North Carolina Interpreter and Transliterator Licensing Board for a term expiring June 30, 2026, to fill the unexpired term of Lynn M. Cooper.

SECTION 1.2. Robert B. Moore, Jr., of Pitt County is appointed to the State Board of Community Colleges for a term expiring June 30, 2027, to fill the unexpired term of Dr. Grant Campbell.

SECTION 1.3. Effective January 1, 2025, the Honorable Wayne Sasser of Stanly County is appointed to NCInnovation for a term expiring June 30, 2027, to fill the unexpired term of Beth A. Friedrich.

SECTION 1.4. Christopher C. Loutit of Wake County is appointed to the Rules Review Commission for a term expiring June 30, 2025, to fill the unexpired term of the Honorable Barbara Jackson.

SECTION 1.5. Tyler S. Moos of Forsyth County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Athletic Trainer Examiners for a term expiring July 31, 2026, to fill the unexpired term of Jillian Sarm.

SECTION 1.6. Derek S. Arndt of Buncombe County is appointed to the North Carolina Arboretum Board of Directors for a term expiring June 30, 2028.

SECTION 1.7. Effective February 28, 2025, Ricky W. Parks of Nash County and Kendall E. Pike of Franklin County are appointed to the North Carolina Governor's Crime Commission for terms expiring February 28, 2027.

SECTION 1.8. Effective March 1, 2025, Joseph R. McLaughlin of Onslow County is appointed to the North Carolina Capital Facilities Finance Agency Board of Directors for a term expiring February 28, 2029.

SECTION 1.9. Kyle W. Puryear of Person County is appointed to the Piedmont Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2025.

SECTION 1.10. Kristy B. Bryant of Yancey County is appointed to the Mayland Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2027.



 SECTION 1.11. If Senate Bill 382 of the 2023 General Assembly becomes law, then effective January 1, 2025, Thomas Currin of Wake County is appointed as a Superior Court Judge for a term that expires January 1, 2032.

PART II. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS

SECTION 2.1. Brent C. Hood of Bladen County is appointed to the Bladen Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2026, to fill the unexpired term of Joseph Rozier.

 SECTION 2.2. Whitney Tobatto of Guilford County is appointed to the Guilford Technical Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2026, to fill the unexpired term of Jose Bernal Munoz.

SECTION 2.3. Charles Spell of Sampson County is appointed to the Sampson Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2026, to fill the unexpired term of Russell Pat Jones.

SECTION 2.4. Hugh David McLean of Moore County is appointed to the Sandhills Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2026, to fill the unexpired term of George Little.

SECTION 2.5. Nancy S. Harrell of Chatham County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Massage and Body Work Therapy for a term expiring June 30, 2026, to fill the unexpired term of Valory K. Hicks.

SECTION 2.6. James M. Richardson of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Supplemental Retirement Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2025, to fill the unexpired term of M. Greg Patterson.

PART III. CORRECTIONS

SECTION 3.1. Section 2.3 of S.L. 2024-50 is repealed.

SECTION 3.2. Section 2.6 of S.L. 2024-50 is repealed.

SECTION 3.3. Section 2.113 of S.L. 2024-12, as amended by Section 3.7 of S.L. 2024-50, reads as rewritten:

"**SECTION 2.113.** Effective October 1, 2024, <u>Kirsten-Kristen Barboza</u>, PT, MBA, FACHE of Gaston County is appointed to the Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring September 30, 2028."

PART IV. EFFECTIVE DATE

SECTION 4.1. This act is effective when it becomes law. Unless otherwise provided, terms begin upon the effective date of this act.