GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2023

SENATE BILL 769 RATIFIED BILL

AN ACT TO REALIGN THE TERMS OF OFFICE FOR CERTAIN MEMBERS OF THE BOARDS OF TRUSTEES OF CERTAIN COMMUNITY COLLEGES.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

PART I. COLLEGE OF THE ALBEMARLE

SECTION 1. Notwithstanding G.S. 115D-13, as amended by Section 6.10(o) of S.L. 2023-134, the terms of office for certain members of the Board of Trustees of the College of The Albemarle shall be revised as follows:

- (1) For the additional term to be elected by the Chowan County Board of Commissioners, the Board shall elect one trustee to a term of one year, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2025.
- (2) For the one term elected by the Dare County Board of Commissioners that expires June 30, 2025, the Board shall elect one trustee to a term of one year, beginning July 1, 2025, so that the term expires June 30, 2026.
- (3) For the additional term to be elected by the Currituck County Board of Commissioners, the Board shall elect one trustee to a term of two years, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2026.
- (4) For the additional term to be elected by the Gates County Board of Commissioners, the Board shall elect one trustee to a term of two years, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2026.
- (5) For the additional term to be elected by the Camden County Board of Commissioners, the Board shall elect one trustee to a term of three years, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2027.
- (6) For the additional term to be elected by the Perquimans County Board of Commissioners, the Board shall elect one trustee to a term of three years, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2027.

PART II. HALIFAX COMMUNITY COLLEGE

SECTION 2. Notwithstanding G.S. 115D-13, as amended by Section 6.10(o) of S.L. 2023-134, of the two additional terms to be elected by the Northampton County Board of Commissioners to the Board of Trustees of Halifax Community College, the Board of Commissioners shall elect one trustee to a term of two years, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2026.

PART III. ROANOKE-CHOWAN COMMUNITY COLLEGE

SECTION 3. Notwithstanding G.S. 115D-13, as amended by Section 6.10(o) of S.L. 2023-134, the terms of office for certain members of the Board of Trustees of Roanoke-Chowan Community College shall be revised as follows:

(1) For the two additional terms to be elected by the Northampton County Board of Commissioners, the Board shall do the following:



- a. Elect one trustee to a term of one year, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2025.
- b. Elect one trustee to a term of three years, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2027.
- (2) Of the two additional terms to be elected by the Bertie County Board of Commissioners, the Board shall elect one trustee to a term of two years, beginning July 1, 2024, so that the term expires June 30, 2026.

PART IV. MISCELLANEOUS

SECTION 4.(a) For the boards of trustees of the community colleges addressed in this act, in accordance with G.S. 115D-12, G.S. 115D-13, and Section 6.10 of S.L. 2023-134, the following shall apply for any seat in which a specific term length is not provided or revised:

- (1) For current seats, the term shall expire at the end of its previously appointed or elected term.
- (2) For additional seats to be elected or appointed pursuant to Section 6.10 of S.L. 2023-134, in order to maintain staggered terms, the initial term shall begin July 1, 2024, and expire June 30, 2028.

SECTION 4.(b) The successors to the trustees elected or appointed to terms of less than four years pursuant to this act shall be elected or appointed, following the expiration of those terms, to terms of four years on July 1, and every four years thereafter, in accordance with G.S. 115D-13, as amended by Section 6.10(o) of S.L. 2023-134.

PART V. EFFECTIVE DATE

SECTION 5. This act is effective when it becomes law.

In the General Assembly read three times and ratified this the 13th day of June, 2024.

- s/ Ralph Hise Presiding Officer of the Senate
- s/ Tim Moore Speaker of the House of Representatives