# GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2023

S SENATE BILL 917

Short Title:	Additional General Assembly Appointments.	(Public)
Sponsors:	Senator Rabon (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:	Calendar 9/9/2024	

## September 9, 2024

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO APPOINT PERSONS TO VARIOUS PUBLIC OFFICES UPON THE RECOMMENDATIONS OF THE PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE OF THE SENATE AND THE SPEAKER OF THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES AND TO MAKE MODIFICATIONS TO PREVIOUS APPOINTMENTS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

## PART I. PRESIDENT PRO TEMPORE'S RECOMMENDATIONS

**SECTION 1.1.** W. Ellis Boyle of Wake County and Joshua O. Harper of Haywood County are appointed to the Disciplinary Hearing Commission of the North Carolina State Bar for terms expiring June 30, 2027.

**SECTION 1.2.** Janice E. Shannon of Brunswick County is appointed to the North Carolina Board of Dietetics/Nutrition for a term expiring June 30, 2027.

**SECTION 1.3.** Dr. Hank Weddington of Randolph County, Dr. Christopher G. Blanton of Watauga County, Dr. Scott Elliott of Watauga County, and Madison Edwards of Randolph County are appointed to the North Carolina Professional Educator Preparation and Standards Commission for terms expiring August 31, 2026.

**SECTION 1.4.** Sandra K. Phelps of Craven County is appointed to the Craven Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2026.

**SECTION 1.5.** MG Kurt J. Ryan of Beaufort County is appointed to the Beaufort Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2026.

#### PART II. SPEAKER'S RECOMMENDATIONS

**SECTION 2.1.** Andy W. Renfrow of Wake County is appointed to the Private Protection Services Board for a term expiring July 1, 2027.

**SECTION 2.2.** Horace C. Johnston, III, of New Hanover County is appointed to the North Carolina Emergency Medical Services Advisory Council for a term expiring December 31, 2027.

**SECTION 2.3.** Whitley J.H. Ward of Bladen County is appointed to the Bladen Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2027.

**SECTION 2.4.** Sheila B. Burns of Caldwell County is appointed to the Caldwell Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2028.

**SECTION 2.5.** David H. Harvey of Halifax County is appointed to the Halifax Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2028.

**SECTION 2.6.** Thomas A. Womble of Harnett County is appointed to the Central Carolina Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2025.



1 2

**SECTION 2.7.** The Honorable Michele D. Presnell of Yancey County is appointed to the Mayland Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2027.

3

**SECTION 2.8.** Dr. William B. Howerton, Jr., of Granville County is appointed to the Vance-Granville Community College Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2025.

5 6

7

#### PART III. CORRECTIONS

**SECTION 3.1.** Section 1.5 of S.L. 2024-12 reads as rewritten:

8 9 10 "SECTION 1.5. Effective January 1, 2025, the The Honorable Michael V. Lee of New Hanover County is appointed to the Education Commission of the States for a term expiring December 31, 2025. December 31, 2026."

11 12 **SECTION 3.2.** Section 1.23 of S.L. 2024-12 reads as rewritten:

13 14 "SECTION 1.23. Effective July 1, 2024, Michael J. Rusher of Wake County is appointed to the North Carolina Land and Water Fund Board of Trustees for a term expiring June 30, 2027. July 1, 2027."

15

**SECTION 3.3.** Section 1.31 of S.L. 2024-12 reads as rewritten:

16 17 "**SECTION 1.31.** Effective September 1, 2024, Bryan F. Jones of Burke County is appointed to the Commission on Indigent Defense Services for a term expiring August 31, 2027. August 31, 2028."

18 19

**SECTION 3.4.** Section 2.63 of S.L. 2024-12 reads as rewritten:

20 21 "SECTION 2.63. Effective October 1, 2024, Fondella Leigh of Perquimans County and Jazmine S. Kilpatrick of Wake County are is appointed to the African-American Heritage Commission for terms-a term expiring September 30, 2027."

22 23

**SECTION 3.5.** Section 2.65 of S.L. 2024-12 reads as rewritten:

24 25

"SECTION 2.65. Effective July 1, 2024, Keith Beavers of Wayne County is appointed to the North Carolina Agricultural Finance Committee for a term expiring June 30, 2027. July 1, 2027."

2627

**SECTION 3.6.** Section 2.75 of S.L. 2024-12 reads as rewritten:

28 29

"SECTION 2.75. Effective July 1, 2024, Kimberly Strach of Wake County, W. David Mannheim of Wake County, <u>Lawrence Shaheen of Mecklenburg County</u>, and Kevin D. Hendrix of Davie County are appointed to the Disciplinary Hearing Commission of the North Carolina State Bar for terms expiring June 30, 2027."

30 31 32

**SECTION 3.7.** Section 2.113 of S.L. 2024-12 reads as rewritten:

33 34 "SECTION 2.113. Effective JulyOctober 1, 2024, Kirsten Barboza, PT, MBA, FACHE of Gaston County is appointed to the Brain Injury Advisory Council for a term expiring June 30, 2029. September 30, 2028."

35 36 37

### PART IV. EFFECTIVE DATE

38 39 **SECTION 4.1.** This act is effective when it becomes law. Unless otherwise provided, terms begin upon the effective date of this act.