## GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2025

FILED SENATE
Feb 26, 2025
S.B. 180
PRINCIPAL CLERK
D

## S

1 2

3

4

5

6

7 8

9

10 11

12

13 14

15

16

17

18 19

20

21

22

23

## SENATE BILL DRS35085-CMe-2

Short Title:	Anson County Board of Commissioners.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Johnson (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:		

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

AN ACT TO ESTABLISH RESIDENCY DISTRICTS FOR THE ANSON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS.

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

**SECTION 1.(a)** The Anson County Board of Commissioners shall consist of seven members elected from seven single-member residency districts. One member shall be elected from each residency district. No candidate shall be eligible to file for, be elected to, or serve on the Anson County Board of Commissioners unless the candidate is a qualified voter and resident of the district in which that candidate seeks to serve. All candidates for election shall be voted on by all eligible voters in the county. Members shall take office and qualify on the first Monday in December of the year of election, and the terms of their predecessors shall expire at that same time. Members shall serve until a successor has been elected and qualified.

**SECTION 1.(b)** The residency districts required by this section shall be the election districts used in the 2020 and 2022 elections for the Anson County Board of Commissioners until revised.

**SECTION 1.(c)** Chapter 281 of the 1987 Session Laws is repealed.

**SECTION 1.(d)** G.S. 153A-22.1(f), as enacted by Chapter 215 of the 1995 Session Laws, and as rewritten by S.L. 1998-175, S.L. 2011-126, S.L. 2023-24, and S.L. 2023-30, reads as rewritten:

"(f) This section applies to Henderson and Moore Johnston, Anson, Henderson, Johnston, and Moore Counties only."

**SECTION 2.** This act becomes effective the first Monday in December 2026, and elections in 2026 and thereafter shall be conducted accordingly.

