GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2025

S

SENATE BILL DRS35049-NIf-44

FILED SENATE Feb 27, 2025 S.B. 211 PRINCIPAL CLERK

Short Title:Reenact the Earned Income Tax Credit.(Public)Sponsors:Senators Mohammed, Lowe, and Applewhite (Primary Sponsors).Referred to:

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

2 AN ACT TO REENACT THE EARNED INCOME TAX CREDIT.

3

1

The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts:

4 **SECTION 1.** G.S. 105-151.31 is reenacted as it existed immediately before its 5 expiration and reads as rewritten:

6 "§ 105-151.31. Earned income tax credit.

(a) Credit. - An individual who claims for the taxable year an earned income tax credit
under section 32 of the Code is allowed a credit against the tax imposed by this Part equal to a
percentage five percent (5%) of the amount of credit the individual qualified for under section
32 of the Code. A nonresident or part-year resident who claims the credit allowed by this section
must reduce the amount of the credit by multiplying it by the fraction calculated under
G.S. 105-134.5(b) or (c), G.S. 105-153.4(b) or (c), as appropriate. The percentage is as follows:

13 14

(1) For taxable year 2013, four and one-half percent (4.5%).

(2) For all other taxable years, five percent (5%).

15 (b) Credit Refundable. – If the credit allowed by this section exceeds the amount of tax 16 imposed by this Part for the taxable year reduced by the sum of all credits allowable, the Secretary 17 must refund the excess to the taxpayer. The refundable excess is governed by the provisions 18 governing a refund of an overpayment by the taxpayer of the tax imposed in this Part. Section 19 3507 of the Code, Advance Payment of Earned Income Credit, does not apply to the credit 20 allowed by this section. In computing the amount of tax against which multiple credits are 21 allowed, nonrefundable credits are subtracted before refundable credits.

(c) Sunset. – This section is repealed effective for taxable years beginning on or after
 January 1, 2014.2028."

SECTION 2. This act is effective for taxable years beginning on or after January 1,
 2025.

