GENERAL ASSEMBLY OF NORTH CAROLINA SESSION 2025



Feb 27, 2025 **S.B. 219** PRINCIPAL CLERK D

FILED SENATE

SENATE BILL DRS45112-LMx-3

Short Title:	Village of Marvin Satellite Annexations.	(Local)
Sponsors:	Senator Johnson (Primary Sponsor).	
Referred to:		

A BILL TO BE ENTITLED

1 2 AN ACT REMOVING THE CAP ON SATELLITE ANNEXATIONS FOR THE VILLAGE OF 3 MARVIN. 4 The General Assembly of North Carolina enacts: SECTION 1. G.S. 160A-58.1 reads as rewritten: 5 6 "§ 160A-58.1. Petition for annexation; standards. 7 . . . 8 (b) A noncontiguous area proposed for annexation must meet all of the following 9 standards: 10 . . . 11 (5) The area within the proposed satellite corporate limits, when added to the area 12 within all other satellite corporate limits, may not exceed ten percent (10%) of the area within the primary corporate limits of the annexing city. 13 This subdivision does not apply to (i) the Cities of Archdale, Asheboro, 14 15 Belmont, Claremont, Concord, Conover, Durham, Elizabeth City, Gastonia, 16 Greenville, Hickory, Kannapolis, Kings Mountain, Locust, Lowell, Marion, 17 Mount Airy, Mount Holly, New Bern, Newton, Oxford, Randleman, Roanoke Rapids, Rockingham, Saluda, Sanford, Salisbury, Shelby, Southport, 18 Statesville, and Washington and Washington, (ii) the Towns of Ahoskie, 19 Angier, Apex, Ayden, Belville, Benson, Bladenboro, Bridgeton, Bunn, 20 21 Burgaw, Calabash, Carthage, Catawba, China Grove, Clayton, Columbia, Columbus, Cramerton, Creswell, Dallas, Dobson, Four Oaks, Franklin, 22 23 Franklinton, Franklinville, Fuquay-Varina, Garner, Godwin, Goldston, 24 Granite Quarry, Green Level, Grimesland, Harrisburg, Holly Ridge, Holly 25 Springs, Hookerton, Hope Mills, Huntersville, Jamestown, Kenansville, Kenly, Knightdale, Landis, Laurel Park, Liberty, Lillington, Louisburg, 26 Maggie Valley, Maiden, Mayodan, Maysville, Middlesex, Midland, 27 Mocksville, Morrisville, Mount Pleasant, Nashville, North Wilkesboro, 28 Norwood, Oak Island, Oakboro, Ocean Isle Beach, Pembroke, Pine Level, 29 Pollocksville, Princeton, Ramseur, Ranlo, Richlands, Rockwell, Rolesville, 30 31 Rutherfordton, Shallotte, Siler City, Smithfield, Spencer, Spring Lake, Stanley, Stem, Stovall, Surf City, Swansboro, Taylorsville, Troutman, Troy, 32 33 Vass, Wallace, Warsaw, Watha, Waynesville, Weldon, Wendell, West 34 Jefferson, Wilson's Mills, Windsor, Wingate, Yadkinville, Youngsville, and 35 Zebulon. Zebulon, and (iii) the Village of Marvin." 36



1

SECTION 2. This act is effective when it becomes law.